Like 0

Elections for deputy speakers, secretary go to 2nd round

Candidates for the first deputy and second deputy speakers and secretary of Wolesi Jirga failed to win enough votes on Saturday when and the Administrative Board election went to the second round -- set for Sunday
Elections for deputy speakers, secretary go to 2nd round
AVA- Leaders of the two houses of parliament are elected for one legislative term. The current Wolesi Jirga speaker is Abdur Rahim Ibrahimi and Meshrano Jirga (Senate) chairman is Fazal Hadi Muslimyar.
Today, members of the Wolesi Jirga -- the lower house -- voted on the appointment administrative board elections.Abdul Rahim Ayubi, a lawmaker from Kandahar, Hamayun Hamayun from Khost, Mohammad Nazir Ahmadzai, a representative of Kochis, were in the run for the first deputy speaker.
Syed Ali Kazimi and Ghulam Farooq Majroh were candidates for the second deputy speaker, while Abdul Qadir Zazai, an MP from Kabul, and Abdul Rauf Inami for the secretary. Samin Barakzaiand Irfanullah Irfan ran for the deputy secretary.
Irfanullah Irfan was able to secure enough votes as second deputy secretary of Wolesi Jirga as his rival Samin Barakzai withdrew from the contest.
Abdur Rahim Ayubi received only one vote, Hamayun 108 ballots and Ahmadzai 79. They failed to secure 50+1 percent of the total votes cast. The two top candidates, Hamayun and Ahmadzai, would run again for their posts on Sunday.
In today’s session of the Wolesi Jirga, 221 lawmakers were present. Thus each candidate needed to win 111 votes. Kazimi and Majroh secured 76 and 77 votes respectively, failing to clinch the slots they ran for.
Abdul Qadir Zazai and Abdur Raouf Inaami secured 99 and 81 votes respectively and they too failed to win their positions.
The Wolesi Jirga decided to launch the poll for new candidates tomorrow on Sunday.
Last year, Hamayon Hamayon was serving as first deputy speaker, Mohammad Nazir Ahmadzai as second deputy speaker, Abdul Qadir Zazai as secretary and Irfanullah Irfan as deputy secretary of the lower house.
The administrative board poll for Meshrano Jirga was held on March 7. The upper house re-elected Mohammad Alam Ezdyar as first deputy chairman, Mohammad Asif Seddiqi as second deputy chairman, Taib Atta as secretary and Mohamamd Faisal Samay as deputy secretary.
Saturday 10 March 2018 15:32
Story Code: 159735 Copy text available
Your Name

Your Email Address
Your Comment *