QR codeQR code

ACB names squad for UAE series

16 Feb 2023 - 11:20

The Afghanistan Cricket Board has confirmed the 18-player squad for the three-match T20I series against the United Arab Emirates.

Afghan Voice Agency(AVA)_Monitoring, The three-match T20I series takes place from Thursday through to February 19 at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

According to ACB Chairman Mirwais Ashraf, the “team has been in the UAE for around 10 days as it was getting ready for the series.”

“Playing UAE in their own conditions is not an easy task because they are a good team with some excellent cricketers, but we are hoping that AfghanAtalan will do well and rise to the occasion,” he added.

This series is in keeping with an agreement signed with the Emirates Cricket Board which notes Afghanistan will play a series of three T20I matches with the UAE on an annual basis.

This will be Afghanistan’s first international assignment in 2023 and is considered a crucial preparation for a busy upcoming season, which includes several bilateral commitments and major events such as the ACC Asia Cup in September and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in October, the ACB said in a statement.

Leading this squad will be Rashid Khan. However, Mohammad Nabi, who stepped down as team captain last year, has been left off the line up.

The squad is:
Rashid Khan (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen Ul Haq, Nijat Masoud, Noor Ahmad, Rahmat Shah, Sharafuddin Ashraf and Zahir Khan.

Story Code: 265567

News Link :