QR codeQR code

Afghanistan Cricket Board Announces Squad for T20I Series

6 Jan 2024 - 21:41

Afghanistan Cricket Board’s Selection Committee has named a 19-member Afghanistan National Squad for the three-match T20I series against India.

Afghan Voice Agency (AVA)_Monitoring, Rashid Khan, Afghanistan’s regular T20I captain, has been included in the squad but might not feature in any game as he recovers from back surgery he recently underwent. However, Ibrahim Zadran, who led Afghanistan to a 2-1 series victory against the UAE in Sharjah recently, will continue to lead Afghanistan against India.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who was not part of the three-match T20I series against UAE, will return to the squad to face India while, Ikram Alikhil, who was a reserve during the UAE series, has been selected as wicketkeeper/batsman.
“We are delighted to be embarking on our maiden tour to India for a three-match series. India is the top-ranked side in the world and it’s very pleasing to witness Afghan Atalan competing in a three-match T20I against them. We believe that Afghan Atalan are no longer underdogs & have excelled well in the recent past and we look forward to a highly competitive series against India,” said Mirwais Ashraf, ACB chairman.
Afghanistan’s Squad for the three-match T20I series against India:
Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib and Rashid Khan.
This series is scheduled to take place from January 11 to 17 in Mohali, Indore, and Bengaluru stadiums.
For cricket fans across Afghanistan, Ariana Television will once again broadcast the matches live.

Story Code: 283629

News Link :