Publish dateSaturday 9 September 2023 - 14:09
Story Code : 276345
The African Union officially became a member of the G20
On the first day of the G20 summit in New Delhi, the Prime Minister of India announced that according to the agreement of all members, the African Union has officially become a member of this group.
Afghan Voice Agency (AVA): The two-day summit of the leaders of the Group of 20 member states under the title "One Earth, One Family, One Future" has started in New Delhi under the rotating chairmanship of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
Modi said in the opening remarks of this meeting: With the agreement of all members, I ask the president of the African Union to take over this position as a permanent member of the Group of 20.
According to media reports, with the announcement of this news, the head of the African Union is sitting next to the leaders of the G20 countries. The African Union has been seeking full membership in this group for 7 years and the addition of this group with more than 50 member countries is a recognition of the growing importance of Africa.
In another part of his speech at the opening of the G20 summit, Modi said: "The 21st century is the time to show the world a new direction." Old global challenges require new solutions that require us to adopt a human-centered approach to solving these challenges.
He said: "Coronavirus has created a global trust deficit, and the Ukraine conflict has worsened this deficit." If we can defeat covid, we can also overcome these internal divisions.
Through 20G, we should try to make this deficit a global understanding, Modi emphasized. It is time to work together. Global understanding is needed to deal with economic turmoil, food and fertilizer security, the North-South divide.
It should be mentioned that in addition to the leaders of the G20 member countries, the leaders of nine other countries, including Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Nigeria, the Netherlands, Spain, the United Arab Emirates, Oman and Singapore, have also been invited to this meeting.
The theme of this summit is "one land, one family, one future". The three main sessions of the meeting are named "one land, one family and one future".
Chinese and Russian president’s Xi Jinping and Vladimir Putin are absent from the G20 summit in New Delhi.
Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and Chinese Prime Minister Li Qiang are present in this meeting on behalf of their countries.
The Group of 20 (G20) is an intergovernmental organization consisting of 19 countries, together with the European Union, which works to address major issues related to the global economy, such as international financial stability, climate change mitigation, and sustainable development.
The first G20 meeting was held in Berlin in 1999 after the 1997 Asian financial crisis. Because this crisis had a significant impact on most countries of the world. In the opening meetings of the Group of 20, only the ministers of economy and heads of central banks participated. But after the financial crisis of 2007-2008, the Group of 20 organized an emergency meeting with the presence of the presidents and prime ministers of the member countries.
Post a comment
Your Name
Your Email Address