Publish dateSunday 11 February 2024 - 16:31
Story Code : 285680
The announcement of the final results of Pakistan
The Election Commission of Pakistan announced the final results of the parliamentary elections of this country. It is said that the independent candidates of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), led by Imran Khan, have surprised other political currents by winning 102 seats out of 265 seats in the parliament.
Afghan Voice Agency (AVA): The Election Commission of Pakistan today (Sunday) announced the final results of the February 8 general election, three days after the election, candidates who are mainly associated with the political party of the imprisoned former Prime Minister Imran Khan. They won the most seats.
It is said that independent candidates affiliated to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Party (PTI) led by Imran Khan have defied expectations by winning 102 seats out of 265 seats.
Independents won 102 seats, followed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz Sharif (PML-N) with 73 seats and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari's Pakistan People's Party (PPP) with 54 seats, according to Geo.
For the first time in Pakistan's political history, independent representatives (the majority of Imran Khan's supporters) have managed to get the most votes, but it seems unlikely that they will form a government.
According to Pakistan's election law, if no party can get the majority (half + one) of the voters' votes, the winning party (with the most seats) must form a coalition, but many believe that Nawaz Sharif, who some say is supported by the army Pakistan has tried to form a coalition and become the prime minister.
Elections in two constituencies will be held later due to the death of a candidate and incomplete voting. A party needs 169 seats in the 336-member National Assembly to form a government with a simple majority.
Imran Khan, the former prime minister, is in prison and his party, Tehreek Adalat wa Insaf, was banned from participating in the elections. Therefore, the candidates of this party participated in the national elections as independents.
Imran Khan and Nawaz Sharif, the former prime minister of Pakistan, both declared victory in this election on Friday.
In Pakistan's parliamentary elections on Thursday, 265 out of 266 seats were contested. A political party needs 133 seats to get a relative majority in the parliament.
On Thursday, 128 million Pakistanis went to the polls to elect their country's next government for the next five years, as well as their four state legislatures.
According to the Pakistani Dawn media, Imran Khan, the former Prime Minister of Pakistan and other prominent politicians who are in prison, participated in the election by mail.
Pakistan is a parliamentary democracy, and voting takes place for seats in the federal legislature known as the "National Assembly" and four provincial or state legislatures.
According to ISNA, the National Assembly of Pakistan consists of 336 seats. 266 seats are determined by direct voting on election day, while 70 reserved seats - 60 for women and 10 for non-Muslims - are allocated based on the strength of each party in the parliament.
After the formation of the National Assembly, a parliamentary vote is held to elect the leader of the Assembly, who becomes the Prime Minister. A successful candidate must obtain a simple majority in parliament, i.e. the support of at least 169 members. When a prime ministerial candidate is voted in the National Assembly, he is sworn in as prime minister. The new prime minister chooses the cabinet ministers who form the federal government. A similar process is followed at the state level to elect a superintendent and a local government.
Post a comment
Your Name
Your Email Address